Road To Success: Prep Race Paths For Kentucky Derby Winners

by | 02.16.2016 | 2:11pm

Since 1952, four graded stakes races have produced the most winners of the Kentucky Derby: the Blue Grass, Florida Derby, Santa Anita Derby and the Wood Memorial. This year's contenders and handicappers are considering which race sequence will present the best possible chance to enter the winner's circle in May, so created a graphical representation of each Kentucky Derby winner's path since 1990.

For example, six different horses have gone on from a start in the Santa Anita Derby to winning the Kentucky Derby, including California Chrome, I'll Have Another, Giacomo, Charismatic, Real Quiet, and Silver Charm. Of those, four came from the San Felipe Stakes, I'll Have Another came from the Robert B. Lewis and Charismatic from the El Camino Real (Charismatic also made a stop in the Lexington Stakes between the Santa Anita Derby and the Kentucky Derby).

The second-most traveled path is through the Arkansas Derby, including five Kentucky Derby champions in American Pharoah, , Smarty Jones, Grindstone, and Lil E. Tee. Of those, two came from the Rebel, Lil E. Tee came from the Spiral Stakes and the Southwest Derby before that, Super Saver came from the Tampa Bay Derby, and Grindstone came through the Louisiana Derby.

Check out the full infographic at

Twitter Twitter
Paulick Report on Instagram